Which Qualifications Does Nsfas Fund 2025/2026

By |

Which Qualifications Does Nsfas Fund 2025/2026

Which Qualifications Or Courses Does Nsfas Fund 2025/2026

NSFAS Funding 2025/2026: Exploring the Qualifications Supported by the National Student Financial Aid Scheme:

The National Student Financial Aid Scheme (NSFAS) is a South African government initiative that provides financial assistance to eligible students pursuing tertiary education at public universities and Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET) colleges. As the 2025/2026 academic year approaches, prospective and current students may wonder which qualifications NSFAS funds.

This article will explore the various qualifications supported by NSFAS, providing valuable insights for students seeking financial aid to pursue their academic goals. Understanding which qualifications NSFAS funds are essential for students seeking financial aid to pursue their tertiary education.

By exploring the various undergraduate and postgraduate qualifications supported by NSFAS at public universities and TVET colleges, students can make informed decisions about their academic and professional paths. Keep in mind that eligibility criteria and funding availability may change, so it is important to stay informed and consult the NSFAS website or your institution’s financial aid office for the most current information.

Read: Nsfas for unisa

Which University Qualifications Does Nsfas Fund 2025/2026

The following are the university qualifications that are funded by Nsfas at the public universities:

Undergraduate Qualifications at Public Universities:

NSFAS funds a wide range of undergraduate qualifications at public universities in South Africa, covering various fields and disciplines. Some of the qualifications funded by NSFAS include:

  • Bachelor’s degrees: NSFAS supports undergraduate degrees in a variety of fields such as Arts, Science, Commerce, Education, and Engineering.
  • Diplomas: Students pursuing undergraduate diplomas in fields like Business Management, Information Technology, and Human Resources can access NSFAS funding.
  • Higher Certificates: One-year qualifications that provide an introduction to specific fields and can serve as a stepping stone to further studies are also eligible for NSFAS support.

Humanities and Social Sciences:

  • Bachelor of Arts (BA) in Psychology, Sociology, Political Science, History, or Philosophy
  • Bachelor of Social Work (BSW)
  • Bachelor of Social Science (BSS)

Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM):

  • Bachelor of Science (BSc) in Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Mathematics, or Computer Science
  • Bachelor of Engineering (BEng) in Civil, Electrical, Mechanical, or Chemical Engineering
  • Bachelor of Science in Information Technology (BSc IT)

Health Sciences:

  • Bachelor of Nursing Science (BNSc)
  • Bachelor of Pharmacy (BPharm)
  • Bachelor of Dental Science (BDS)

Commerce and Business Administration:

  • Bachelor of Commerce (BCom) in Accounting, Finance, Economics, or Management
  • Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA)


  • Bachelor of Laws (LLB)


  • Bachelor of Education (BEd) in Foundation, Intermediate, Senior, or Further Education and Training (FET) phases

Agriculture and Environmental Sciences:

  • Bachelor of Science in Agriculture (BSc Agric)
  • Bachelor of Environmental Science (BEnvSc)

Performing and Creative Arts:

  • Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA)
  • Bachelor of Music (BMus)

Postgraduate Qualifications at Public Universities:

Funding for postgraduate qualifications through NSFAS is limited, and only certain programs may be eligible. Some examples include:

  • Postgraduate Certificate in Education (PGCE): This qualification is designed for students who want to pursue a career in teaching after completing their undergraduate degree.
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Accounting: This program is tailored for students seeking to advance their careers in accounting and finance.
    It is crucial to consult your university’s financial aid office or the NSFAS website for specific details on postgraduate funding opportunities.

Which Tvet College Courses Does Nsfas Fund 2025/2026

The National Student Financial Aid Scheme (NSFAS) provides funding for a variety of courses at Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET) colleges in South Africa. The following are the primary types of qualifications funded by NSFAS at TVET colleges:

National Certificate (Vocational) [NC(V)]:

These are three-year vocational qualifications designed to equip students with practical skills in specific fields. Examples of NC(V) courses include:

  • Civil Engineering and Building Construction
  • Electrical Infrastructure Construction
  • Engineering and Related Design
  • Finance, Economics, and Accounting
  • Hospitality
  • Information Technology and Computer Science
  • Marketing
  • Office Administration
  • Primary Health
  • Process Plant Operations
  • Safety in Society
  • Tourism

Read Also: List Of Courses Funded By Nsfas In 2024/2025

Report 191 (NATED) Programs:

These are career-oriented qualifications that comprise 18-month theoretical studies followed by 18-month workplace experience components. Examples of NATED courses include:

  • Business Management (N4-N6)
  • Financial Management (N4-N6)
  • Human Resource Management (N4-N6)
  • Management Assistant (N4-N6)
  • Marketing Management (N4-N6)
  • Public Management (N4-N6)
  • Public Relations (N4-N6)
  • Educare (N4-N6)
  • Engineering Studies (N1-N6), including:
  • Civil Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Telephone: 08000 67327 (toll-free)
  • Email: info@nsfas.org.za
  • Website: www.nsfas.org.za

Hope the information given above has been useful to you, if you have any suggestions kindly leave them in the comment section provided below the post. You can also visit the official website of Nsfas for more details.


How NSFAS assists students
nursing colleges with Nsfas
nsfas registration 2023
register with nsfas
Is NSFAS still open for 2023

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *